Two Years.
Thursday, Sept. 11, 2003

I wish that I could come up with wise, penetrating, sufficient words, but I've been sitting here for close to a half-hour, and I just can't.

The weather is virtually the same here today as it was on that day. I noticed it immediately when I walked outside this morning to go to work; a cool stillnes of the air, a perfect blue sky.

That day was my son's first day of preschool in our new town. My most vivid memory of that day is driving my family across the Whitestone Bridge and seeing the smoke billowing out of Lower Manhattan, the smoke gray against that perfect blue sky. It would never have occurred to me in a million years that the buildings would fall.

Sometimes - rarely - I catch myself expecting to see them when I look at that end of the skyline.

We were on the way to take him to preschool and then start taking stuff over to the new house. That day was the beginning of something new for us.

For all of us.

Posted by mikeski at 11:31 a.m.